The State of Illinois Joint Committee on Administrative Rules (JCAR) approved a rule giving the state power to fine business owners who do not mandate mask use within their establishments. The rule reaffirms the order established on May 1st, which says business owners can be fined up to $2500 for repeatedly violating the mask mandate.
The Illinois Department of Public Health will first issue a written warning to the business. If the establishment does not comply, they will be charged with a misdemeanor and fined between $75 and $2500. The fines are only for businesses and not individuals.
The rule is effective as of August 13th and is scheduled to expire on November 28th.